16 August 2010

24th Ohrid Swimming Marathon begins

The 24. Ohrid Swimming Marathon, held under the auspices of President Gjorge Ivanov, began Saturday, including 22 competitors from 10 countries.
The 13 male and 9 female swimmers are expected to pass the 30km-long track "Klime Savin" in 5-6 hours, depending on the weather conditions.
Eight-time winner and current leader in the world ranking, Bulgarian Petar Stoychev is among the competitors, along with closest rival Damien Blaum from Argentina. Macedonia is represented by five swimmers, with Evgenij Pop-Acev, who is sixth in the Grand Prix standings, leading the charge.
Geijo Pilar, who is first in the general classification among women, is among the swimmers, alongside Esther Nunez Morera, who won the Ohrid marathon three years ago. There are no female representatives from Macedonia this year.
The Ohrid marathon is the ninth of 10 marathons within the Grand Prix series of the International Swimming Federation (FINA). The event is organized by the Macedonian Swimming Federation and Ohrid-based water sports club "Ohridski Branovi".

No comments:

Post a Comment